Header Image
Compton College / Guided Pathway Divisions / Science, Technology, Engineering and Math / Mathematics

Mathematics

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Guided Pathway Division

The mathematics program provides the student with sufficient depth to support a lifelong interest in mathematics, and is suitable for the student who plans to transfer in mathematics. The core of the major is the calculus sequence, in which the
student will acquire a conceptual understanding of the principles of differential and integral calculus for functions of one and several variables, as well as the ability to apply calculus techniques in a variety of applications. One course in Differential Equations with Linear Algebra is required, as well as one additional course to provide the student with greater breadth in mathematics. Competency will be assessed by evaluating the student's ability to solve a wide range of calculus and other mathematical problems.

The Associate in Science for Transfer (AS-T) is intended for students who plan to complete a bachelor's degree in a similar major at a CSU campus. Students completing the AS-T are guaranteed admission to the CSU system, but not to a particular campus or major. In order to earn an AS-T degree, students must complete:

  1. Completion of 60 semester units or 90 quarter units of degree-applicable courses that are eligible for transfer to the California State University.
  2. Completion of the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC).
  3. A minimum of 18 semester units in a major or area of emphasis, as determined by the community college district.
  4. Obtainment of a minimum overall grade-point average of 2.0.
  5. A grade of  "C" (or "P") or better in all courses required for the major or area of emphasis. Students who have completed the AS-T will have a strong academic foundation in the field and will be prepared for upper-division baccalaureate study at the university. The coursework will satisfy most of the lower-division requirements at many institutions within the California State University system. Students transferring to a UC, private, or out-of state university should consult with a Compton counselor when planning to complete the degree since transfer requirements may be slightly different than those required for the AS-T.


Program Learning Outcomes: Upon successful completion of the degree program, students will be able to:

  • Explain and demonstrate mathematical concepts relevant to the course content.
  • Solve problems, including application problems, relevant to the course concepts and content.
  • Create, interpret, and analyze graphs relevant to the course concepts and content.
  • Analyze and construct proofs relevant to the course concepts and content.

Course Catalog (PDF)

Majors Preparation Work Sheets (Counseling webpage)


Contact Information:

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Guided Pathway Division

Abiodun Osanyinpeju, Ph.D.
Dean of Student Learning
aosanyinpeju@compton.edu

Donald Roach, Ph.D.
Division Chair
droach@compton.edu


Mathematics Faculty:

Ronny Alpern
ralpern@compton.edu

Gayathri Manikandan
gmanikandan@compton.edu

Jose Martinez
jmartinez@compton.edu

Joe Mediza
jmediza@compton.edu

Miguel Ornelas
mornelas@compton.edu

Donald Roach, Ph.D.
droach@compton.edu

Malinni Roeun, Ed.D.
mroeun@compton.edu

Evan Skorka
eskorka@compton.edu

Abigail Tatlilioglu
atatlilioglu@compton.edu

Jose Villalobos, Ph.D.
jvillalobos@compton.edu

Back to top