Header Image
Compton College / Guided Pathway Divisions / Science, Technology, Engineering and Math / General Sciences

General Sciences

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Guided Pathway Division

The general science program provides students the opportunity to investigate diverse methods of inquiry by experiencing courses from a cross section of science disciplines. Students will develop critical thinking skills, learn to communicate effectively in writing, and acquire an understanding of major scientific concepts. Through course options, students will use mathematical concepts to solve problems and employ methods of scientific inquiry to understand the world around them. Completion of the degree requirements will prepare students with the skills and resources needed to facilitate academic and career decisions. Competencies will be assessed through regularly scheduled theory and laboratory examinations.

Program Learning Outcomes: 

Upon successful completion of the degree program, students will be able to:

  • Trace the development of a scientific idea from gathering of data through development of a hypothesis to testing a prediction.
  • Make scientific measurements and demonstrate the difference between disagreement and error.
  • Read a simple graph or diagram and interpret the results appropriately.

 

General Studies: Biological and Physical Sciences- AA 

These courses emphasize the physical universe, its life forms, and its natural phenomena. Courses in the sciences will help students develop an understanding of the scientific method and the relationship between science and other human activities. Students transferring to a four-year university will have a basic foundation for further studies in areas such as biology (biochemistry, biophysics, molecular and cell biology, marine biology, microbiology), chemistry, physical and earth sciences (astronomy, geology, physical geography, oceanography), or physics. This emphasis may be useful for students interested in possible career paths in life sciences, physiology, exercise science, physical sciences, or earth sciences. Select 18 units with at least one course in Biological Sciences and one course in Physical Sciences.


Course Catalog (PDF)

Majors Preparation Work Sheets (Counseling webpage)


Contact Information: 

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Division (STEM)

Abiodun Osanyinpeju, Ph.D.
Dean of Student Learning
aosanyinpeju@compton.edu

Donald Roach, Ph.D.
Division Chair
droach@compton.edu


General Science Faculty:

Fazal Aasi, M.D.
faasi@compton.edu

Emma Adams, D.V.M.
eadams@compton.edu

Leonard Clark
lclark@compton.edu

Karla Coti, Ph.D.
kcoti@compton.edu

Hassan Elfarissi
helfarissi@compton.edu

Sevana Khodagholian, Ph.D.
skhodagholian@compton.edu

Katherine Marsh, Ph.D.
kmarsh@compton.edu

Schetema Nealy, Ph.D.
snealy@compton.edu

Rajinder Sidhu
rsidhu@compton.edu

Kent Schwitkis, Ph.D.
kschwitkis@compton.edu

Ayesha Sirajuddin, Ph.D.
asirajuddin@compton.edu

Eyob Wallano, D.V.M.
ewallano@compton.edu

Back to top