Header Image
Compton College / Administrative Operations and Departments / Campus Committees / Academic Senate

Academic Senate

Statement of Purpose:

The Academic Senate is organized under the provisions of the California Code of Regulations, Title 5, shall represent the faculty and make recommendations to the administration and to the Board with respect to academic and professional matters, so long as the exercise of such functions does not conflict with the lawful collective bargaining agreement.

Current Goals:

The Academic Senate's annual goals reflect a commitment to "an effective process of collaboration and collegial consultation conducted with integrity and respect to inform and strengthen decision-making" (Strategic Initiative C).

  1. Establish a diverse representation on all campus.
  2. Establish an orientation for Academic Senate.
  3. Increase communication between Senators and their constituents through increased email contact and regular reporting out during Division.
  4. Increase faculty attendance and involvement at Academic Senate.
  5. Assist in the growth of faculty professional development activities on campus.
  6. Support and assist in the structure and implementation of AB288: Public schools: College and Career Access Pathways Partnership Agreements with local highs.
  7. Support Strong Workforce efforts on campus.
  8. Increase transparency and communication between faculty and administration.


Constitution and Bylaws of the Academic Senate of the Compton Community College District 


Meeting Dates and Location:

1st & 3rd Thursday of every month.

Fall 2020   Spring 2021  
September 3 Zoom February 25 TBD
September 17
Zoom March 4 TBD
October 1 Zoom March 18 TBD
October 15 Zoom April 1 TBD
October 29 Zoom April 22 TBD
November 19
Zoom May 6 TBD
December 3 Zoom May 20 TBD
    June 3 TBD                   


Academic Senate Committee Membership:

Members E-mail Representation
Minodora Moldoveanu mmoldoveanu@compton.edu Chairperson
Jasmine Phillips jphillips@compton.edu Vice Chairperson
Carlos Maruri cmaruri@compton.edu Secretary
Sean Moore smoore@compton.edu Curriculum Representative
Vacant   Faculty Board Representative
Victoria Martinez vmartinez@compton.edu Adjunct Representative
Theresa Barragan-Echeverria tbarragan@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Judith Crozier jcrozier@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Roza Ekimyan rekimyan@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Harvey Estrada hestrada@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Citlali Gonzalez cgonzalez@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Jennifer Hill jhill@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Mahbub Kahn mkahn@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Don Mason dmason@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Jose Manuel Martinez jmartinez@compton.edu Faculty Representative
David Maruyama dmaruyama@compton.edu Faculty Representative
David McPatchell dmacpatchell@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Janette Morales jmorales@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Pamela Richardson prichardson@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Holly Schumacher hschumacher@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Kent Schwitkis kschwitkis@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Rajinder Sidhu rsidhu@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Evan Skorka eskorka@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Andree Valdry avaldry@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Michael Van Overbeck mvanoverbeck@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Jose Villalobos jvillalobos@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Amber Gillis agillis@compton.edu Past Chairperson


Academic Senate Committee Meeting Agenda & Minutes



Back to top