Academic Awards Tea Celebrates Student Success

Photo of Academics Awards Tea

The annual Academic Awards Tea recognized the academic achievements of 49 honor students, three Presidential Scholars, and 31 scholarship recipients. Scholarships awarded by both the Foundation for the Compton Community College District and college departments totaled $32,500.

The 2017 Presidential Scholars are Tiana Gripper, Perla Yamileth Lara-Escobedo and Tafari Richards. Presidential Scholars represent students who have shown academic strength, singular focus and the desire to reach their highest potential, while overcoming obstacles in the pursuit of their dreams. The Presidential Scholar program recognizes outstanding students who are graduating with a 3.7 grade point average or higher.

Full story and list of honor students and scholarship recipients here: >

Return to Homepage