Header Image
Compton College / Guided Pathway Divisions / Science, Technology, Engineering and Math / Physical Sciences

Physical Sciences

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Guided Pathway Division

The physical science program provides students the opportunity to investigate diverse methods of inquiry by experiencing courses from a cross section of science disciplines. Students will develop critical thinking skills, learn to communicate effectively in writing, and acquire an understanding of major scientific concepts. Through course options, students will use mathematical concepts to solve problems and employ methods of scientific inquiry to understand the world around them. Completion of the degree requirements will prepare students with the skills and resources needed to facilitate academic and career decisions. Competencies will be assessed through regularly scheduled theory and laboratory examinations.

Program Learning Outcomes: 

Upon successful completion of the degree program, students will be able to:

  • Trace the development of a scientific idea from gathering of data through development of a hypothesis to testing a prediction.
  • Problems students will make scientific measurements and demonstrate the difference between disagreement and error.
  • Read a simple graph or diagram and interpret the results appropriately.


Course Catalog (PDF)

Majors Preparation Work Sheets (Counseling webpage)


Contact Information:

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Guided Pathways Division

Abiodun Osanyinpeju, Ph.D.
Dean of Student Learning
aosanyinpeju@compton.edu

Donald Roach, Ph.D.
Division Chair
droach@compton.edu


Physical Science Faculty:

Leonard Clark
lclark@compton.edu

Karla Coti, Ph.D.
kcoti@compton.edu

Sevana Khodagholian, Ph.D.
skhodagholian@compton.edu

Schetema Nealy, Ph.D.
snealy@compton.edu

Kent Schwitkis, Ph.D.
kschwitkis@compton.edu

Back to top