Header Image
Compton College / Guided Pathway Divisions / Science, Technology, Engineering and Math / General Studies

General Studies

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Guided Pathway Division

The Associate of Arts Degree in General Studies provides students with the opportunity to explore diverse methods of inquiry by selecting courses from a cross section of disciplines in an "area of emphasis" which includes in Arts and Humanities, Fine and Applied Arts, Culture and Communication, Social and Behavior Sciences, Biological and Physical Sciences, and Kinesiology and Wellness. Students will develop critical thinking skills, learn to communicate effectively in writing, acquire an understanding of major concepts to solve problems, and employ methods of scientific inquiry to understand the world around them. Completion
of the degree requirements will provide students with the skills and resources needed to make informed academic and career-related decisions.

Completion of the General Studies degree does not guarantee acceptance into a four-year university. Students planning to transfer to a CSU or UC should follow the CSU GE Breadth or IGETC pattern and complete transferable coursework that relates to the major at the CSU or UC campus. For further information and course selection, please consult with an academic counselor.

Biological and Physical Sciences Emphasis

These courses emphasize the physical universe, its life forms, and its natural phenomena. Courses in the sciences will help  students develop an understanding of the scientific method and the relationship between science and other human activities. Students transferring to a four-year university will have a basic foundation for further studies in areas such as biology (biochemistry,
biophysics, molecular and cell biology, marine biology, microbiology), chemistry, physical and earth sciences (astronomy, geology, physical geography, oceanography), or physics. This emphasis may be useful for students interested in possible career paths in life sciences, physiology, exercise science, physical sciences, or earth sciences. Select 18 units with at least one course in Biological Sciences and one course in Physical Sciences.


Course Catalog (PDF)

Majors Preparation Work Sheets (Counseling webpage)


Contact Information:

Science Technology and Engineering Guided Pathway Division

Abiodun Osanyinpeju, Ph.D.
Dean of Student Learning
aosanyinpeju@ompton.edu

Donald Roach, Ph.D.
Division Chair
droach@compton.edu


Biological and Physical Sciences Faculty:

Fazal Aasi, M.D.
faasi@compton.edu

Emma Adams, D.V.M.
eadams@compton.edu

Hassan Elfarissi
helfarissi@compton.edu

Katherine Marsh, Ph.D.
kmarsh@compton.edu

Rajinder Sidhu
rsidhu@compton.edu

Ayesha Sirajuddin, Ph.D.
asirajuddin@compton.edu

Eyob Wallano, D.V.M.
ewallano@compton.edu

Back to top