Header Image
Compton College / Guided Pathway Divisions / Science, Technology, Engineering and Math / General Sciences

BIOMANUFACTURING

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math Guided Pathway Division

In this biomanufacturing program, students will gain key knowledge, skills, and abilities needed to work in the biomanufacturing industry, which uses biological systems to produce biofuels, vaccines, pharmaceutical drugs, and other therapeutic agents. Students will get hands on experience with production and analysis of biologically relevant molecules. Students learn both basic and advanced techniques in biotechnology and biomanufacturing such as genetic engineering, cell culture, chromatography including HPLC, and biochemical analysis as well as how to do technical writing, approaches to quality in the biomanufacturing industry, and requirements to work in a regulated environment. This program will train students to work as in a variety of jobs, including bioprocessing technicians, research and development lab technicians, and quality control/quality assurance associates.

Program Learning Outcomes: 

Upon successful completion of the degree program, students will be able to:

  • Perform a technical laboratory task common to the biomanufacturing industry by utilizing the appropriate instruments or equipment safely and effectively.

 

Certificate of Achievement

Biomanufacturing Technician

Goals and objectives must address a valid occupational, basic skills, civic education, or lifelong learning purpose. For the purposes of Chancellor’s Office submission and approval, programs may select one of two program goals: CTE or local. CTE is limited to certificates in a vocational TOP Code. Local is used for all other certificates but may include certificates designed to prepare students for transfer.

Program Learning Outcomes: Upon successful completion of the degree program, students will be able to:

  • Evaluate the most appropriate strategy to purify a given protein based on its biochemical properties.

 

Biotechnology Laboratory Assistant

The Biotechnology Laboratory Assistant Certificate of Achievement prepares students with the technical skills needed to work in a biotech laboratory. Students in this program receive hands on training in basic laboratory skills including preparation of buffers and other reagents, proper documentation, DNA manipulation, enzymatic assays, protein separation methods, antibody-based methods, and data collection. This program emphasizes cell and molecular biology techniques such as culturing and manipulating both bacterial and mammalian cells using genetic engineering as well as performing protein purification and analysis. This program is ideal for students who want to gain the technical expertise to work effectively in a bioscience laboratory in a supportive role like a laboratory assistant.

Program Learning Outcomes:  Upon successful completion of the degree program, students will be able to:

  • Develop a cloning strategy to insert a gene of interest into a given DNA plasmid.

 


Course Catalog (PDF)

Majors Preparation Work Sheets (Counseling webpage)


Contact Information: 

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Division (STEM)

Abiodun Osanyinpeju, Ph.D.
Dean of Student Learning
aosanyinpeju@compton.edu

Donald Roach, Ph.D.
Division Chair
droach@compton.edu


General Science Faculty:

Fazal Aasi, M.D.
faasi@compton.edu

Emma Adams, D.V.M.
eadams@compton.edu

Leonard Clark
lclark@compton.edu

Karla Coti, Ph.D.
kcoti@compton.edu

Hassan Elfarissi
helfarissi@compton.edu

Sevana Khodagholian, Ph.D.
skhodagholian@compton.edu

Katherine Marsh, Ph.D.
kmarsh@compton.edu

Schetema Nealy, Ph.D.
snealy@compton.edu

Rajinder Sidhu
rsidhu@compton.edu

Kent Schwitkis, Ph.D.
kschwitkis@compton.edu

Ayesha Sirajuddin, Ph.D.
asirajuddin@compton.edu

Eyob Wallano, D.V.M.
ewallano@compton.edu

Back to top