Header Image
Compton College / Compton Community College District / Board of Trustees / Special Trustee / Special Trustee Advisory Committee

Special Trustee Advisory Committee

Special Trustee Advisory Committee Members Appointed for the Compton Community College District

As outlined in AB 318, the CCCD Special Trustee Advisory Committee is organized “to advise the Special Trustee with respect to the management of the Compton Community College District.”

Domitila Aguilar Domitila Aguilar

Domitila Aguilar resides in South Gate and is employed by the Lynwood Unified School District as a second and sixth grade teacher. Aguilar has served on several advisory committees relating to education and was president of the Lynwood Unified School District Board from 1998-2003. Aguilar received a Bachelor of Arts degree in liberal studies from California State University, Long Beach; a master's degree in education from the University of Phoenix; and AVID Training from San Diego State University.

Amirah Hendrickson

Amirah Hendrickson
Amirah Hendrickson is employed by the Los Angeles Superior Court as court manager/administrator in the Civil Operations Division. She is the owner of Azuri Tours and Travel, Inc. and Azuri Passport and Visa Services. In 2010, Hendrickson received the Black Business Portrait from the Carson Black Chamber of Commerce. Hendrickson received her Associate of Arts degree in general education from West Los Angeles College and her Master of Public Administration degree from California State University, Dominguez Hills.

Marie Hollis

Marie Hollis
Marie Hollis is the president of Concerned Citizens of Compton, Inc. Hollis is an active member of many other organizations including the American Association of University Women and the National Association for Equal Justice in America. Hollis earned her Bachelor of Science degree from Langston University and her Master of Arts degree from the University of Oklahoma. Hollis taught math in Oklahoma and for the Los Angeles Unified School District where she served as chairperson of the math department for 15 years and as school counselor for 22 years. She is the recipient of many awards including: Woman of the Year Award from Assemblyman Isadore Hall; the Distinguished Woman of the Year Award from Senator Rod Wright; and Mayor Tom Bradley's “Apple for the Teacher” Award.

Lestean Johnson

Lestean Johnson
Dr. Lestean Johnson has served as president/CEO of the Compton Chamber of Commerce for the past 10 years. Additionally, Johnson serves as executive director of New Beginnings Academy, an educational facility in Compton. She has worked in the City of Compton for over thirty years and serves on an advisory team where trainings and workshops are provided to existing and potential businesses. She holds a master's degree in business management; and a doctorate degree in education with an emphasis on literacy.


Cynthia Macon
Cynthia Macon has resided in Compton since 1963. She served as marketing director for Voyager Software in Santa Monica. Macon is a member of the Concerned Citizens of Compton and the National Association for Equality and Justice in America. Macon's history of volunteer service includes: tutoring and teaching computer skills at the Stanford Children's Hospital in Palo Alto, Calif., and through the Union Rescue Mission of San Francisco; and Sheriff Baca's Annual Community Day. Macon received the City of Compton Volunteer Award.


Joy Masha
Joy Masha resides in Paramount and is employed by the California State Senate. She served on the California State University, Dominguez Hills Student Fee Advisory Committee in 2009-2010. She is the executive director of Read Lead, a nonprofit educational initiative in Los Angeles, and she is a member of the Board of Trustees for Holy Trinity A.M.E. Church. Masha earned a master's degree in higher education from California State University, Fullerton and a bachelor's degree in human services from California State University, Dominguez Hills.


Olivia Verrett
Olivia Verrett is a public servant and an active member of many community organizations focused on citizens' rights. She is currently the planning commissioner for the City of Carson and serves as a National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) State Conference officer and Women in the NAACP chair. She also recently served on the CCCD Redistricting Committee. Her past appointments include chair of the City of Carson's Human Relations Commission; member of the Public Safety Task Force, Women's Task Force, and the Code of Ethics Task Force; and president of the Carson/Torrance branch of the NAACP. Verrett earned a master's degree in sociology from California State University, Dominguez Hills; a bachelor's degree in political science, and an associate degree in administration of justice from El Camino College.


Nancy Sepulveda (Student Representative)
Nancy Sepulveda is a working adult who enrolled at El Camino College Compton Center in spring 2013. She plans to earn an associate degree and transfer to a university to accomplish her goal of obtaining a bachelor's degree in educational administration. She was elected by her peers to the position of Associated Student Body secretary for the 2014-15 academic year. Sepulveda has 15 years of work experience in public service and customer relations. She has served as a special service officer for the City of Long Beach, worked as an administrative assistant at the Los Angeles County Office of Education, and as a customer service representative in various retail stores in the home improvement industry

Back to top