Header Image
Compton College / Administrative Operations and Departments / Campus Committees / Academic Senate / Distance Education Advisory Committee

Distance education Advisory committee

purpose

In support of the institution's Mission, Vision, Quality Focused Essay (QFE) and Master Plan, Compton Colleges' Distance Education Advisory Committee (DEAC) will work with the Deans, the Distance Education Faculty Coordinator (DEFC), Curriculum Committee, Academic Senate as instructional program leaders to facilitate and improve online teaching, learning and technology.  

With the understanding that faculty should have the primary responsibility for developing policies and promoting Distance Education practices, DEAC will support a learner-centered program designed to further student success by making recommendations to Curriculum and reporting to Academic Senate. Each DEAC member will represent his/her division/department and act as a resource to all faculty and staff members within their division regarding exploration, development and implementation of robust pedagogical online strategies in the Distance Education environment. Also, departments such as the library and student services etc. will collaborate with DEAC to strategize ways to enhance the online experience for our students. 

Meeting Dates, Times, Location, minutes and agendas

voting committe members 

Representative Area

Name

Email

DSPS/SRC Rep Cliff Seymour cseymour@compton.edu 
Student Rep Vacant  
Academic Affairs Rep Vacant  
Counseling  Eckko Blake eblake@compton.edu 
Student Services Rep Syria Purdom spurdom@compton.edu 
MIS Rep Andrei Yermakov ayermakov@compton.edu 
Curriculum Committee Chair  Sean Moore smoore@compton.edu 
BIS Lynda Wilkerson lwilkerson@compton.edu 
SS Dr. Kendahl Radcliffe kradcliffe@compton.edu 
FACH Nikki Williams niwilliams@compton.edu 
STEM Jose Villalobos jvillalobos@compton.edu 
HPS Dr. Roza Ekimyan rekimyan@compton.edu 
Adjunct Faculty Rep Stephanie Eaves seaves@compton.edu 

 

list of DE approved faculty


list of senate approved Distance education courses

 

DEAC DOCUMENTS

Distance Education Board Reports

  1. December 2020
  2. March 2020 

Policies/Procedures for DEAC Review

  1. Distance Education Regular and Effective Contact - Approved by: DEAC on 11/13/18, Curriculum on 12/4/18 & Senate on 2/21/19
  2. DE Scheduling Ticket Notes - 10/22/2019 1st read; 2nd read and voted on 11/26/2019; Senate 3/19/2020 1st read; 2nd read and vote by Senate on 4/2/2020
  3. DE Online and Hybrid Syllabi Statements -10/22/2019 1st read; 11/26/2019 Tabled; add to handbook instead
  4. DE Communication Plan - 11/26/2019 1st read; 2nd read and voted on 3/24/2020; Senate 4/2/2020 1st read; 2nd read and vote by Senate on 4/16/2020
  5. DE Hybrid Teaching Best Practices - 3/27/2020 1st read;
  6. ASCCC Third Category of Online Classes - 4/28/2020 1st read; 2nd read and voted - 05/26/2020; Senate 1st read, 2nd read and vote by Senate on 6/4/2020
  7. New DE Addendum - 4/28/2020 1st read; 2nd read and voted  - 05/26/2020; brought to Senate as an informational item
  8. CBA: Online Faculty Evaluation Form: 1st read; 2nd read and voted  - 05/26/2020; forwarded to the union
  9. CBA: Student Online Evaluation Form: 1st read; 2nd read and voted  - 05/26/2020; forwarded to the union
  10. DE Summer Expectations: 1st read; 2nd read and voted  - 05/26/2020; Senate 1st read, 2nd read and vote by Senate on 6/4/2020
  11. DE Program Review Survey questions  - 05/26/2020 1st read; workgroup started
  12. DE Publisher Applications and Websites Policy: 1st read; 2nd read and voted  - 05/26/2020; Senate 1st read, 2nd read and vote by Senate on 6/4/2020
  13. DE Instructional Material Fee and Access Code Policy: 1st read; 2nd read and voted  - 05/26/2020; Senate 1st read, 2nd read and vote by Senate on 6/4/2020
  14. DE Student Authentication Policy: 05/26/2020 1st read; 2nd read and voted -09/22/2020; Senate 1st read, 2nd read and vote by Senate 10/29/2020
  15. Online Teaching Training Policy: 1st read; 2nd read and voted-11/26/2020; Senate 1st read, 2nd read and vote by Senate 12/3/2020
  16. Equitable Camera Use Policy/DE Policy on Camera Use in Synchronous Courses: 1st read Dec 8, 2020; 2nd read: Feb 23, 2021; Senate March 4 2021
  17. DE Handbook (Spring 2021)
  18. Online Evaluation Tool Rubric (Spring 2021)
  19. Accessibility check process for publisher content and LTI requests (work with accessibility committee Spring 2021)
  20. Welcome Letter Policy (Spring 2021)
  21. First 48-hour Policy (Spring 2021)

Formal Recommendations Submitted for DEAC Review

  1. Integrate EdReady into Canvas - Submitted 10/22/2019 1st Read; 2nd Read & Approved on 11/26/2019; Senate 3/19/2020 1st read; 2nd read and vote by Senate on 4/2/2020 
  2. Free Pilot App Hypothesis - Submitted 11/4/2019 1st Read; 2nd Read & Approved on 3/27/2020; Discussed as an informational item in Senate on 4/2/2020 
  3. Net Lab Resource - Submitted 11/26/2019 1st Read- Tabled on 3/27/2020 
  4. Norton - 03/27/2020 - DEAC Approved no vote required 
  5. XYZ Math LTI - 05/26/2020 1st read; 
  6. WebAssign Math LTI - 05/26/2020 1st read; 
  7. MyOpenMath LTI - 05/26/2020 1st read; 
  8. MyLab and Mastering Math LTI - 05/26/20201st read; 
  9. Respondus 4.0 (test bank upload) - DEAC read 2/23/2021; Senate read 3/4/2021

 

Back to top