• MyCompton
  • Apply Online
Header Image
Compton College / Campus Information / Campus History

History of ECC Compton Center / Compton College

The Compton Community College District (CCCD) was established in 1927 as a component of the Compton Union High School District. In 1950, voters approved a bond issue separating the college from the high school district. Construction of the new college campus was completed on the present site. Classes began on the new campus in fall 1956.

The Compton Community College District encompasses an area of about 29 square miles, making educational services available to nearly 300,000 residents of Compton, Lynwood, Paramount and Willowbrook, as well as portions of Athens, Bellflower, Carson, Downey, Dominguez, Lakewood, Long Beach and South Gate. Today, about 290 full and part-time faculty teach more than 40 degree programs and 20 certificate programs.

In November 2002 the Compton Community College District won voter approval of Measure CC, authorizing the issuance of $100 million in general obligation bonds to upgrade classrooms, labs, infrastructure, and instructional equipment, while making much-needed health and safety repairs and energy efficiency improvements. An independent Citizens' Bond Oversight Committee was also established at this time.

After many successful years, and several challenging years, in June 2005 the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges announced its decision to revoke Compton College's accreditation.

In August 2006, the El Camino Community College District Board of Trustees approved a Memorandum of Understanding to provide educational and related support services to Compton Community College District residents.

El Camino College provides accredited instructional and related support, in addition to administrative services, to meet the needs of Compton Community College District students. El Camino College courses are taught by CCCD employed faculty.

Through the agreement, residents of the Compton Community College District continue to have access to university transfer and career and technical education opportunities, as well as financial aid, basic skills courses and related support services.

In November 2014, voters in the Compton Community College District approved Measure C, a $100 million facilities bond designed to make technology and safety upgrades campuswide.

The Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges (ACCJC) granted initial accreditation status to Compton College during its June 7, 2017 meeting. The action established Compton College as an accredited college within the El Camino Community College District.

Typically, the ACCJC process would require accreditation candidacy to immediately follow accreditation eligibility. However, the Commission was so impressed with the progress made during the past two years, they determined that moving directly to initial accreditation was in order. Granting initial accreditation indicates that the ACCJC has determined that the institution is in substantial compliance with its eligibility requirements, accreditation standards, and ACCJC policies.

Administration at Compton College is led by Dena P. Maloney, Superintendent/President of the El Camino Community College District.

Keith Curry is President/CEO of Compton College.

Back to top