Header Image
Compton College / Administrative Operations and Departments / Campus Committees / Academic Senate Committee

Academic Senate

Statement of Purpose:

The Academic Senate is organized under the provisions of the California Code of Regulations, Title 5, shall represent the faculty and make recommendations to the administration and to the Board with respect to academic and professional matters, so long as the exercise of such functions does not conflict with the lawful collective bargaining agreement.

Current Goals:

The Academic Senate’s annual goals reflect a commitment to “an effective process of collaboration and collegial consultation conducted with integrity and respect to inform and strengthen decision-making” (Strategic Initiative C).

1. Ensure full faculty involvement in decision-making related to academic and professional matters (BP 2520)

      Measures:

  • Arrange faculty representation on campus committees and periodic updates,
  • Recruit faculty co-chairs for Institutional Standing Committees
  • Ensure divisions have required number of senators
  • Review and begin revising Academic Senate By-laws to reflect curriculum reforms
  • Ensure Academic Senate office is relocated in swing space

 

2. Strengthen faculty involvement in the activities of the Academic Senate

      Measures:

  • Provide an orientation at the start of the academic year
  • Provide regular, ongoing communication with all faculty, encouraging greater involvement in the Senate and committees
  • Encourage greater participation of senators in meetings and other activities of Senate
  • Establish initiatives to recognize faculty achievements

 

3. Support the college’s institutional effectiveness goal that more students from our diverse communities will attain     educational success and achieve their academic goals.

      Measures:

  • Support Enrollment Management initiatives through ongoing communication and faculty involvement
  • Support accreditation efforts through regular Senate/Faculty Council communication and collaboration
  • Foster awareness of and encourage faculty involvement in the local implementation of statewide initiatives for student success, equity, enrollment, retention and completion

Meeting Dates and Location:

1st & 3rd Thursday of every month.

* This is a special meeting scheduled to coincide with ACCJC Accreditation visit the week of March 6-9th. This is a Tuesday. We are switching days with El Camino College.

Fall 2015   Spring 2016  
September 8 Board Room February 16 Board Room
September 22 Board Room March 7* Board Room
October 6 Board Room March 16 Board Room
October 20 Board Room April 6 Board Room
November 3 Board Room April 20 Board Room
November 17 Board Room May 4 Board Room
December 1 Board Room May 18 Board Room
December 15 Board Room   Board Room


Academic Senate Committee Membership:

Members E-mail Representation
Paul M. Flor pflor@elcamino.edu Chairperson
Chris Halligan challigan@elcamino.edu Vice Chairperson
Nikki Williams nwilliams@elcamino.edu Secretary
Essie French-Preston epreston@elcamino.edu Curriculum Representative
Mahbub Khan mkhan@elcamino.edu Adjunct Representative
Jerome Evans jevans@elcamino.edu Board Representative
Annaruth Garcia agarcia@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Phillip Yaghmai pyaghmai@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Shirley Thomas sthomas@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Pamela West pawest@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Kendhal Radcliff kradcliffe@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Mandeda Uch much@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Abigail Tatlilioglu atatlilioglu@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Jose Villalobos jvillalobos@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Kent Schwitkis kschwitkis@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Eyob Wallano ewallano@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Andree Valdry avaldry@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Vanessa Haynes vhaynes@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
David McPatchell dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu Faculty Representative
Elizabeth Craigg Walker   Faculty Representative

 

Academic Senate Committee Meeting Agenda & Minutes

 

 

Back to top