Header Image
Compton College / Academic Programs / Distance Education / Course Information

Distance Education 

(online and Hybrid Courses)

Many of the distance education courses will have a first class meeting on campus.  Some courses are offered entirely online and do not have meetings on campus. Hybrid courses include both online instruction and required on-campus class meetings.

The instructors at Compton College use the course management system 'ETUDES'  or 'CANVAS' via the internet. The online courses are available on the start date of the class. A student must login and read the first announcement.  The announcement will contain instructions that includes what needs to be completed to avoid being dropped from the class.  Instructors teaching hybrid courses use the same system; however, students must attend the first day of class as scheduled and meetings thereafter.

 Register Online image

DE Courses are accessed in Course Management System called ETUDES or CANVAS via the Internet.  (You must be officially registered in a DE course or you will not see the course tab in ETUDES or CANVAS)

ETUDES Website and Login Instructions

CANVAS Website and Login Instructions

Academic Strategies (Recommended for Students taking Online Courses.)

AS 60, Strategies for Success in Distance Education, #9249
Instructor:  N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu
September 9th to October 20th


FALL 2017 HYBRID COURSES

Computer Information Systems


CIS 13, Computer Information Systems - # 9534
Instructor: A. Yahye, ayahye@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Wednesday beginning Wednesday, August 30 from 4:30 p.m. to 5:45 p.m. in room VT-124..

Mathematics

Math 150, Elementary Statistics w/Probability – #9801
Instructor: J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Saturday beginning Saturday, August 26 from 9:00 a.m. to 10:50 a.m. in room MS-210.

Math 150, Elementary Statistics w/Probability – #9802
Instructor: J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Monday and Wednesday beginning Monday, August 28 from 10:45 – 12:35 p.m.in room MS-210.

Math 150, Elementary Statistics w/Probability – #9803
Instructor: J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Monday and Wednesday beginning Wednesday, August 30 from 10:45 to 12:35 p.m.in room MS-210.

Math 73, Intermediate Algebra – #9780
Instructor: J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Saturday beginning Saturday, August 26 from 11:30 p.m. to 1:50 p.m. in room MS-210.

Math 80, Intermediate Algebra for Science/Engineering –#9787
Instructor: M. Tavakkoli, mtavakkoli@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Monday and Wednesday beginning Monday, August 28 from 5:30 p.m. to 6:40 p.m. in room MS-202.

 

FALL 2017 ONLINE COURSES

Academic Strategies (Recommended for Students taking Online Courses.)

AS 60, Strategies for Success in Distance Education, #9249
Instructor:  N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu
September 9th to October 20th

Administration of Justice

AJ 100, Introduction to Administration of Justice, #9005   
Instructor:  D. Mason, dmason@elcamno.edu

AJ 111, Criminal Investigation, #9008
Instructor: J. Sandoz, jsandoz@elcamino.edu

Anthropology

ANTH 1, Introduction to Physical Anthropology, #9017
Instructor:   J. Parikh,  parikh@elcamino.edu
1st 8-Weeks: August 26th to October 20th

ANTH 2, Introduction to Cultural Anthropology, #9020
Instructor:   J. Parikh,  parikh@elcamino.edu
2nd 8-Weeks:  October 21st to Decmeber 15th

Art

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life, #9028
Instructor: G. Smith, gasmith@elcamino.edu

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life, #9029
Instructor: A. Lezo, alezo@elcamino.edu

Astronomy 

ASTR 20, The Solar System, #9832
Instructor:  K. Schwitkis, kschwitkis@elcamino.edu

Business

BUS 1A, Financial Accounting, #9491
Instructor: Pending

BUS 1B, Managerial Accounting-#9495
Instructor:  Pending

BUS 21, Human Resource Management-#9503
Instructor: D. McGovern, dmcgovern@elcamino.edu
2nd 8-Weeks:  October 21st to Decmeber 15th

BUS 28, Written Business Communications, #9506
Instructor:  D. McGovern, dmcgovern@elcamino.edu
1st 8-Weeks: August 26th to October 20th

Child Development

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development, #9900
Instructor: J. Phillips, jphillips@elcamino.edu

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development, #9901
Instructor:  C. Washington, cwashington@elcamino.edu

CDEV 104, The Home, School, and Community, #9904
Instructor:  R. Most, most@elcamino.edu

CDEV 114, Observing/Assessing Young Children, #9911
Instructor: R. Most, rmost@elcamino.edu

CDEV 150, Introduction of Children with Special Needs, #9919
Instructor: C. Washington, cwashington@elcamino.edu

Contemporary Health
CH1, Personal and Community Health, #9608
Instructor:  K. Rosario,  rosario@elcamino.edu

Economics

ECON 1, Principles of Economics, Macroeconomics Theory, # 9064
Instructor: M. Keskinel, mkeskinel@elcamino.edu

English

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9362
Instructor:  R, Roach, rroach@elcamino.edu

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9363
Instructor:  N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9364
Instructor:  A. Gillis, agillis@elcamino.edu

ENGL 1B, Literature/Composition, #9369
Instructor:  D. Maruyama, dmaruyama@elcamino.edu
1st 8-Weeks: August 26th to October 20th

ENGL 1C
, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9382
Instructor:  N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu
1st. 8-Weeks:  August 26th to October 20th

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9383
Instructor: J. Hill,  jhill@elcamino.edu

ENGL 1C,
Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9384
Instructor:  J. Hill,  jhill@elcamino.edu

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9385
Instructor:  R. Roach, rroach@elcamino.edu
2nd 8-Weeks:  October 21st to Decmeber 15th

ENGL 39, Literature and Film-#9388
Instructor: J. Crozier, jcrozier@elcamino.edu

History

History 101, United States History to 1877 - #9108
Instructor: D. Black, dblack@elcamino.edu

History 101, United States History to 1877 - #9109
Instructor:  R. Murray, rmurray@elcamino.edu

History 102, U.S.  History, 1877 to the Present – #9114   
Instructor: K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@elcamino.edu 

History 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present – #9115
Instructor: K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@elcamino.edu 

History 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present – #9116
Instructor: S. Panski, spanski@elcamino.edu

Human Development

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success – #9094
Instructor: J. Phillips, jphillips@elcamino.edu

Humanities

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities, #9431
Instructor:   L. Noonan,   lnoonan@elcamino.edu

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities, #9432
Instructor:   L. Noonan,   lnoonan@elcamino.edu

Music

Music 111, Music Appreciation Survey, #9129
Instructor:   M. Uch, much@elcamino.edu

Music 111, Music Appreciation Survey, #9130
Instructor:   M. Uch, much@elcamino.edu

Nutrition

NFOO 11, Nutrition, #9629
Instructor:  M. Lyons, mlyons@elcamino.edu

Philosophy

PHIL 103 (previously PHIL 3), Ethics and Society –#9438  
Instructor:   E. Sedgwick, esedgwick@elcamino.edu

PHIL 106 (previously PHIL 8), Introduction to Logic –#9441
Instructor: E. Sedgwick, esedgwick@elcamino.edu

Physics

PHYS 11, Descriptive Introduction to Physics , #9889
Instructor: A. Said, asaid@elcamino.edu

Political Science

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S and CA, # 9166
Instructor: P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S and CA, #9167
Instructor: E. Craigg, ecraigg@elcamino.edu

POLI 2, Introduction to Comparative Politics, #9168
Instructor: P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu 
 

Psychology

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development - #9199
Instructor: D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu

PSYC 5, General Psychology - #9188
Instructor: T. DeHardt, tdehardt@elcamino.edu
1st 8-Weeks:  August 26th to October 20th  

PSYC 5, General Psychology - #9189
Instructor: D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu

Sociology

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology, #9215
Instructor: P. Aguilera, paguilera@elcamino.edu

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology, #9216
Instructor: V. Haynes, vhaynes@elcamino.edu

SOCI 102, The Family, #9220
Instructor: P. Aguilera, paguilera@elcamino.edu

SOCI 104, Social Problems-#9222
Instructor: V. Haynes, vhaynes@elcamino.edu

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                   (upated June 5, 2017)

RESOURCES:

Student Handbook for Distance Educaiton Courses: Fall 2017

Quick Reference Guide 

Searchable Class Schedule

Online Bookstore

What is available for the Fall 2017?
Distance Education Course List,
Fall 2017

 CANVAS

   Canvas Login Instructions

 

 

ETUDES LOG 
    ETUDES STUDENT HELP DESK

    ETUDES Login Instructions
    ETUDES - Resetting the Password

    ETUDES Student User Guide

    ETUDES New Dashboard Features

 

Back to top