Header Image
Compton College / Academic Programs / Distance Education / Course Information

Distance Education 

(online and Hybrid Courses)

Many of the distance education courses will have a first class meeting on campus.  Some courses are offered entirely online and do not have meetings on campus. Hybrid courses include both online instruction and required on-campus class meetings.

The instructors at Compton College use the course management system 'CANVAS' via the internet. The online courses are available on the start date of the class. A student must login and read the first announcement.  The announcement will contain instructions that includes what needs to be completed to avoid being dropped from the class.  Instructors teaching hybrid courses use the same system; however, students must attend the first day of class as scheduled and meetings thereafter.

 Register Online image  DE Courses are accessed on the Course Management System called  CANVAS via the Internet. 
   (You must be officially registered in a DE course or you will not see the course tab in  CANVAS)

CANVAS Website and Login Instructions

Academic Strategies 60
(Recommended for students enrolling in Distance Education courses-available in the fall 2018 semester.)

Students enrolled in online or hybrid classes for the summer 2018 should check their college email for updates that are periodically sent regarding any changes.

SUMMER 2018 HYBRIDCOURSES

Mathematics

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #9796
Instructor:   J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled.
 Monday and Thursday from 8:00 a.m. to 9:55 a.m. in room MS 210 (June 18 through August 9)

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #9796
Instructor:   J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled.
Monday and Thursday from 11:00 a.m. to 12:55 a.m. in room MS 210 (June 18 through August 9)

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra, General Education, #9769
Instructor:   G. Manikandan, gmanikandan@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled.
Monday and Wednesday from 9:00 a.m. to 11:20 a.m. in room MS 205 (June 18 through August 9)

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra, General Education, #9776
Instructor:   G. Manikandan, gmanikandan@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled.
Tuesday and Thursday from 9:00 a.m. to 11:20 a.m. in room MS 205 (June 18 through August 9)

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra, General Education, #9779
Instructor:   Malinni Roeun, mroeun@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled.
Monday and Thursday from 3:00 p.m. to 5:20 p.m. in room TV 22 (June 18 through August 9)

 SUMMER 2018 ONLINE COURSES

Anthropology

ANTH 1, Introduction to Physical Anthropology, #9017
Instructor:   J. Parikh,  parikh@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:  Canvas

ANTH 2, Introduction to Cultural Anthropology, #9021
Instructor:   J. Parikh,  parikh@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Art

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life, #9030
Instructor: G. Smith, gasmith@elcamino.edu
Learning Management SystemCanvas

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life, #9032
Instructor: A. Lezo, alezo@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Astronomy 

ASTR 20, The Solar System, #9829
Instructor:  K. Schwitkis, kschwitkis@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  Canvas

Business

BUS 22, Human Relations in Organizations -  #9496
Instructor: D. McGovern, dmcgovern@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

BUS 28, Written Buisiness Communications -  #9497
Instructor:  D. McGovern, dmcgovern@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Child Development

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development - #9898
Instructor: R. Most, rmost@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  Canvas

CDEV 150, Introduction of Children with Special Needs, #9929
Instructor: C. Washington, cwashington@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Contemporary Health

CH1, Personal and Community Health, #9606
Instructor:  K. Rosario, rosario@elcamino.edu
Learning Management SystemCanvas

Economics

ECON 1, Principles of Economics, Macroeconomics Theory, # 9064
Instructor: M. Keskinel, mkeskinel@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

ECON 2, Principles of Economics, Microeconomics Theory, # 9066
Instructor: M. Keskinel, mkeskinel@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

English

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9350
Instructor:  N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:  Canvas

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9351
Instructor:  A. Gillis, agillis@elcamino.edu 
Learning management System:  Canvas

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9352
Instructor:  N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:  Canvas

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9353
Instructor:  E. Walker, ewalker@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:  Canvas

ENGL 1B, Literature/Composition, #9367
Instructor:  D. Maruyama, dmaruyama@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management SystemCanvas

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9385
Instructor: J. Hill,  jhill@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:  
Canvas

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9386
Instructor:  J. Hill,  jhill@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9387
Instructor:  A. Gillis, agillis@elcamino.edu 
Learning management System:  Canvas

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9387
Instructor:  M. Mayreis-Voorhis, mmayreis@elcamino.edu  
Learning management System:  Canvas

History

History 101, United States History to 1877 - #9102
Instructor: K. Radcliffe,
kradcliffe@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System: Canvas

History 101, United States History to 1877 - #9103
Instructor: W. Van Benschoten, wvanbenschoten@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

History 101, United States History to 1877 – #9104   
Instructor: D. Black, dblack@elcamino.edu    Learning Management System:   Canvas

History 101, United States History to 1877 – #9105  
Instructor: D. Black, dblack@elcamino.edu   
Learning Management System:   Canvas

History 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present – #9108
Instructor: K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

History 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present – #9109
Instructor: R. Murray, rmurray@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:  
Canvas

History 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present – #9110
Instructor: R. Murray, rmurray@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:   Canvas

History 140, History of Early Civilization - #9114
Instructor: W. Van Benschoten, wvanbenschoten@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Human Development

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success – #9085
Instructor: R. Ekimyan, rekimyan@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:  
Canvas

Humanities

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities, #9430
Instructor:   A.. Gillis, agillis@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:   Canvas

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities, #9431
Instructor:   L. Noonan,   lnoonan@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Music

Music 111, Music Appreciation Survey, #9131
Instructor:   M. Uch, much@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: Canvas

Music 111, Music Appreciation Survey, #9132
Instructor:   M. Uch, much@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: Canvas

Nutrition

NFOO 11, Nutrition, #9627
Instructor:  M. Lyons, mlyons@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Physical Education

PE 277, Introduction to Kinesiology/Physical Ed. - #9670
Instructor:  Nathan Fernley, nfernley@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  Canvas

Physics

PHYS 11, Descriptive Introduction to Physics , #9887
Instructor: M. Khan, mkhan@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Political Science

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA, #9162
Instructor: P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  Canvas

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA, #9163
Instructor:  J. Georges, jgeorges@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System: Canvas

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA, #9164
Instructor: E. Craigg, ecraigg@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: Canvas

POLI 10, Introduction to International Relations - #9168
Instructor: P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu 
 Learning Management System: Canvas

Psychology

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development - #9194
Instructor:  E. Cooper, ecooper@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System: Canvas

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development - #9195
Instructor:  D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: Canvas

PSYC 5, General Psychology - #9182
Instructor: B. Conn, bconn@elcamino.edu Learning Management System: Canvas

PSYC 5, General Psychology - #9186
Instructor: T. DeHardt, tdehardt@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: Canvas

Sociology

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology, #9214
Instructor: V. Haynes, vhaynes@elcamino.edu
 Learning Management System: Canvas

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology, #9215
Instructor: P. Aguilera, paguilera@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

SOCI 102, The Family, #9218
Instructor: V. Haynes, vhaynes@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: Canvas

SOCI 102,The Family, #9220
 Instructor: P. Aguilera, paguilera@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

 (upated May 7, 2018)

 

  RESOURCES:

  Student Handbook for Distance Education Courses

   Searchable Class Schedule

  Online Bookstore

 CANVAS

   Canvas Login Instructions  

 

CONTACT INFORMATION

Accreditation (ACCJC)

Vocational Technology Building, Office 138
310-900-1600, ext. 2137
If you have a questions, please email us at distanceEd-cec@elcamino.edu

Distance Education Faculty Coordinator

Back to top