Header Image
Compton College / Academic Programs / Distance Education / Course Information

Distance Education 

(online and Hybrid Courses)

Many of the distance education courses will have a first class meeting on campus.  Some courses are offered entirely online and do not have meetings on campus. Hybrid courses include both online instruction and required on-campus class meetings.

The instructors at Compton College use the course management system 'CANVAS' via the internet. The online courses are available on the start date of the class. A student must login and read the first announcement.  The announcement will contain instructions that includes what needs to be completed to avoid being dropped from the class.  Instructors teaching hybrid courses use the same system; however, students must attend the first day of class as scheduled and meetings thereafter.

 Register Online image  DE Courses are accessed on the Course Management System called  Canvas  via the Internet.  (You must be officially registered in a DE course or you will not see the course tab in  CANVAS)

CANVAS Login Instructions and Link and Canvas Login Instructions


SPRING 2019 Distance Education Courses


SHORT-TERM COURSES (4/13/19 to 6/7/19)

English 

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition - #9383 
D. Juarez, djuarez@elcamino.edu  
2nd 8-Weeks:  April 13 to June 7, 2019

Human Development 

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success - #9091
R. Ekimyan, rekimyan@elcamino.edu
2nd 8-Weeks:  April 13 to June 7, 2019

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success - #9092 
R. Ekimyan, erekimyan@elcamino.edu 
 2nd 8-Weeks:  April 13 to June 7, 2019

History 

History 101, United States History to 1877 - #9108 
W. Van Benschoten, wvanbenschoten@elcamino.edu  
2nd 8-Weeks: April 13 to June 7, 2019

Humanities 

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities - #9432 
L. Noonan,   lnoonan@elcamino.edu   
2nd 8-Weeks: April 13 to June 7, 2019

Mathematics 

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra for General Education, #9772
M. Roeun, mroeun@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 2:30 to 4:50pm on Tuesday and Thursday. You must attend the first class meeting on Tuesday, April 16, 2019  from 2:30 to 4;50pm in MS 105 or you may be dropped from the course. A TI-83 or TI-84 graphing calculator is highly recommended.
2nd 8-Weeks: April 16 to June 6, 2019

Nutrition 

NFOO 11, Nutrition - #9630
J. Gray, jgray@elcamino.edu  
2nd 8-Weeks: April 13 to June 7, 2019

Psychology 

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development - #9199 
B. Yimenu, byimenu@elcamino.edu 
2nd 8-Weeks: April 13 to June 7, 2019


HYBRID COURSES

Biology

BIOL 10, Fundamentals of Biology, #9838
K, Marsh, kmarsh@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 2:00 to 5:10pm on Monday. You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 11, 2019 from 2:00 to 5;10pm in MS 108 or you may be dropped from the course.

BIOL 10, Fundamentals of Biology, #9840
K, Marsh, kmarsh@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 5:30-8:40pm on Tuesday. You must attend the first class meeting on Tuesday, February 12, 2019 from 5:30 to 8:40pm in MS 108 or you may be dropped from the course.

Computer Information System

CIS 13, Introduction to Computer Information System, #9527
A. Yahye, ayahye@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 10:45 to 12:05pm on Monday. You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 11, 2019, from 10:45 to 12:05pm in VT 124 or you may be dropped from the course.

CIS 13, Introduction to Computer Information System, #9533
A. Yahye, ayahye@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 5:00 to 6:15pm on Wednesday. You must attend the first class meeting on Wednesday, February 13, 2019, from 5:00 to 6:15pm in VT 124 or you may be dropped from the course.

CIS 18, System Anaylsis and Design, #9534
A. Yahye, ayahye@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 5:30. to 6:45pm on Monday. You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 11, 2019, from 5:30 to 6:45pm in VT 124 or you may be dropped from the course.

Mathematics 

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra for General Education, #9770
G. Manikandan, gmanikandan@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:30 to 11:55am on Wednesday. You must attend the first class meeting on Wednesday, February 13 2019 from 11:50 to 11:55am in MS 206 or you may be dropped from the course. A TI-83 or TI-84 graphing calculator is highly recommended.

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra for General Education, #9771
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 12:30 to 2:5 pm on Saturday. You must attend the first class meeting on Saturday, February 9, 2019 from 12:30 to 2;50pm in MS 210 or you may be dropped from the course. A TI-83 or TI-84 graphing calculator is highly recommended.

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra for General Education, #9772
M. Roeun, mroeun@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 2:30 to 4:50pm on Tuesday and Thursday. You must attend the first class meeting on Tuesday, April 16, 2019 from 2:30 to 4;50pm in MS 105 or you may be dropped from the course. A TI-83 or TI-84 graphing calculator is highly recommended.
2nd 8-Weeks: April 16 to June 6, 2019

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra for General Education, #9773
M. Roeun, mroeun@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 5:30 to 7:50pm on Wednesday. You must attend the first class meeting on Wednesday, February 13, 2019 from 5:30 to 7;50pm in MS 1202 or you may be dropped from the course. A TI-83 or TI-84 graphing calculator is highly recommended.

MATH 80, Intermediate Algebra for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, #9781
G. Manikandan, gmanikandan@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:30 to 11:50am on Monday. You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 11, 2019 from 9:30 to 11:50am in MS 206 or you may be dropped from the course. .A TI-83 or TI-84 graphing calculator is highly recommended.

MATH 80, Intermediate Algebra for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, #9782
M. Tavakkoli, mtavakkoli@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 5:30 to 7:50pm on Monday. You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 11, 2019 from 5:30 to 7:50pm in MS 209 or you may be dropped from the course. .A TI-83 or TI-84 graphing calculator is highly recommended.

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #9796
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. You must attend the first class meeting on Saturday, February 9, 2019 from 9:30 to 11:20am in MS 210or you may be dropped from the course. The weekly schedule is 9:30 to 11:20am on Saturdays. .A TI-83 or TI-84 graphing calculator is highly recommended.

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #9797
J. Villalobosjvillalobos@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 11, 2019 from 12:00 to 12:55pm in MS 210 or you may be dropped from the course. . The weekly schedule is 12:00 to 12:55pm on Monday and Wednesday. A TI-83 or TI-84 graphing calculator is highly recommended.

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #9798
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 11, 2019 from 2:00 to 2:55pm in MS 207 or you may be dropped from the course. The weekly schedule is 2:00 to 2:55pm on Monday and Wednesday. A TI-83 or TI-84 graphing calculator is highly recommended.

RE 11, Real Estate Principles, #9672
J. Yeressian, jyeressian@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:00-10:15am. on Saturdays. You must attend the first class meeting on Saturday, February 9, 2019, from 9:00-10:15am in VT 128 or you may be dropped from the course.

RE 13, Real Estate Practice, #9675
J. Yeressian, jyeressian@elcamino.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 10:45-12pm. on Saturdays. You must attend the first class meeting on Saturday, February 9, 2019, from 1045-12pm in VT 128 or you may be dropped from the course.


Spring 2019 Online Courses

Administration of Justice 

AJ 10, Introduction to Homeland Security - #9001
Instructor:  Y. Flores, yflores@elcamino.edu

AJ 100, Introduction to Administration of Justice - #9005 

D. Mason, dmason@elcamno.edu 

Anthropology 

ANTH 1, Introduction to Physical Anthropology - #9016 
J. Parikh,  parikh@elcamino.edu   

ANTH 2Introduction to Cultural Anthropology - #9017 
J. Parikh,  parikh@elcamino.edu    

Art 

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life - #9028 
Instructor:  J. Thayer, jthayer@elcamino.edu 

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life - #9029 
A. Lezo, alezo@elcamino.edu 

ART 102B - #9032 
A. Lezo, alezo@elcamino.edu 

Astronomy   

ASTR 20The Solar System - #9832 
K. Schwitkis, kschwitkis@elcamino.edu 

Biology

BIOL 15, Environmental Aspects of Biology - #9843
D. Khalid, dkhalid@elcamino.edu

Business

BUS 14, Marketing - #9500 
D. McGovern, dmcgovern@elcamino.edu 

Child Development 

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development - #9898 
S. Gethers, sgethers@elcamino.edu 

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development - #9899 
P. West, pwest@elcamino.edu 

CDEV 104, The Home, School, and Community - #9902 
C. Washington, cwashington@elcamino.edu   

CDEV 114, Observing/Assessing Young Children - #9917 
R. Most, rmost@elcamino.edu

CDEV 129, Introduction to Program Administration - #9913
C. Washington, cwashington@elcamino.edu   

CDEV 150, Introduction of Children with Special Need - #9930 
C. Washington, cwashington@elcamino.edu   

CDEV 154, Role/Responsibility of the Special Ed. Assistant - #9932 
P. West, pawest@elcamino.edu   

Contemporary Health 

CH1, Personal and Community Health - #9610 
T. Hazel, Thazel@elcamino.edu   

Economics 

ECON 2, Principles of Economics, Microeconomics Theory - # 9063 
M. Keskinel, mkeskinel@elcamino.edu  

English 

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition - #9354
A. Gillis, agillis@elcamino.edu 

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition - #9355
V. Woodward, vwoodward@elcamino.edu 

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition - #9356 
J. Crozier, jcrozier@elcamino.edu 

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition - #9357 
A. Gillis, agillis@elcamino.edu  

ENGL 1B, Literature/Composition - #9366 
D. Maruyama, dmaruyama@elcamino.edu   
1st 8-Weeks: February 9 to April 5 

ENGL 1CAdv. Critical Thinking and Composition - #9382 
J. Hill,  jhill@elcamino.edu   
 
ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition - #9383 
D. Juarez, djuarez@elcamino.edu 
2nd 8-Weeks:  April 13 to June 7, 2019

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition - #9384 
J. HIll, jhill@elcamino.edu     
1st 8-Weeks: February 9 to April 5 

ENGL 40B, American Literature II - #9390 
J. Crozier, jcrozier@elcamino.edu   

Geology 

GEOL 1, Physical Geology -  #9867 
M. Okbamicahel, mokbamichael@elcamino.edu  

History 

History 101, United States History to 1877 - #9107 
K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@elcamino.edu   

History 101, United States History to 1877 - #9108 
W. Van Benschoten, wvanbenschoten@elcamino.edu   
2nd 8-Weeks:  April 13 to June 7, 2019

History 102, U.S.  History, 1877 to the Present - #9114    
D. Black, dblack@elcamino.edu    

History 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present - #9115  
K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@elcamino.edu    

History 141, History of Modern Civilization - #9120 
W. Van Benschoten, wvanbenschoten@elcamino.edu 

Human Development 

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success - #9091
R. Ekimyan, rekimyan@elcamino.edu
2nd 8-Weeks:  April 13 to June 7, 2019

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success - #9092 
R. Ekimyan, erekimyan@elcamino.edu 
2nd 8-Weeks:  April 13 to June 7, 2019

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success - #9093
 
J. Phillips, jphillips@compton.edu   

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success- #9094 
J. Phillips, jphillips@compton.edu   

Humanities 

HUMA 1Introduction to the Humanities - #9431 
L. Noonan,   lnoonan@elcamino.edu   

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities - #9432 
L. Noonan,   lnoonan@elcamino.edu   
2nd 8-Weeks: April 13 to June 7, 2019

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities - #9433
L. Noonan,   lnoonan@elcamino.edu

Music 

Music 111, Music Appreciation Survey - #9128 
M. Uch, much@elcamino.edu 

Nutrition 

NFOO 11, Nutrition - #9629 
M. Lyons, mlyons@elcamino.edu  

NFOO 11, Nutrition - #9630
J. Gray, jgray@elcamino.edu  
2nd 8-Weeks: April 13 to June 7, 2019

Physical Education 

PE 277, Introduction to Kinesiology/Physical Ed. - #9664 
Nathan Fernley, nfernley@elcamino.edu 

Philosophy 

PHIL 103 (previously PHIL 3), Ethics and Society - #9437   
E. Sedgwick, esedgwick@elcamino.edu     

PHIL 106 (previously PHIL 8), Introduction to Logic - #9439 
E. Sedgwick, esedgwick@elcamino.edu      

Physics 

PHYS 11, Descriptive Introduction to Physics - #9885 
M. Khan, mkhan@elcamino.edu  

Political Science 

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA - # 9162 
P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu 

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA, #9163 
E. Walker, ewalker@elcamino.edu 
 
POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA, #9165 
P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu 

POLI 10, Introduction to International Relations - #9172 
P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu  

Psychology 

PSYC 10, African American Psychology - #9194 
J. Phillips, jphillips@compton.edu  

PSYC 15, Abnormal Psychology - #9185 
K. Dooley, kdooley@elcamino.edu 

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development - #9186
 
D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu   

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development - #9198 
D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu   

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development - #9199 
B. Yimenu, byimenu@elcamino.edu 
2nd 8-Weeks: April 13 to June 7, 2019

PSYC 5, General Psychology - #9188 
K. Dooley, kdooley@elcamino.edu  

PSYC 5, General Psychology - #9189 
F. Moshrefi, fmoshrefi@elcamino.edu  

PSYC 5, General Psychology - #9190 
B. Conn, bconn@elcamino.edu 

Sociology 

SOCI 101Introduction to Sociology - #9212 
V. Haynes, vhaynes@elcamino.edu 

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology - #9213 
P. Aguilera, paguilera@elcamino.edu 

SOCI 102, The Family - #9217 
V. Haynes, vhaynes@elcamino.edu  

SOCI 104, Social Problems - #9222 
P. Aguilera, paguilera@elcamino.edu 

 

  RESOURCES:

  Student Handbook for Distance Education Courses

   Searchable Class Schedule

  Online Bookstore

 CANVAS

   Canvas Login Instructions  

 

CONTACT INFORMATION

Accreditation (ACCJC)

Vocational Technology Building, Office 138
310-900-1600, ext. 2137
If you have a questions, please email us at distanceEd-cec@elcamino.edu

Distance Education Faculty Coordinator
Jasmine Phillips
310-900-1600, ext. 2555
jphillips@compton.edu

Back to top