Header Image
Compton College / Academic Programs / Distance Education / Course Information

Distance Education 

(online and Hybrid Courses)

Many of the distance education courses will have a first class meeting on campus.  Some courses are offered entirely online and do not have meetings on campus. Hybrid courses include both online instruction and required on-campus class meetings.

The instructors at Compton College use the course management system 'ETUDES'  or 'CANVAS' via the internet. The online courses are available on the start date of the class. A student must login and read the first announcement.  The announcement will contain instructions that includes what needs to be completed to avoid being dropped from the class.  Instructors teaching hybrid courses use the same system; however, students must attend the first day of class as scheduled and meetings thereafter.

 Register Online image  DE Courses are accessed in Course Management System called ETUDES or CANVAS via the Internet. 
   (You must be officially registered in a DE course or you will not see the course tab in ETUDES or CANVAS)

ETUDES Website and Login Instructions

CANVAS Website and Login Instructions

ONLINE CLASSES THAT BEGIN APRIL 14, 2018 - REGISTER TODAY!!!

  Child Development 129, 9913
   Instructor: Pending

   Human Development 110, 9080
   E. French-Preson, epreston@elcamino.edu
   Learning Management System:  ETUDES

  Child Development 131, 9914
  Instructor: Pending

  History 101, 9108
  W. Vanbenschoten, wvanbenschoten@elcamino.edu
   Learning Management System: Canvas

  English 1A, 9360
  J. Crozier, Jcrozier@elcamino.edu
  Learning Management System:  Canvas

  History 102, 9115
   K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@elcamino.edu

  English 1B, 9362
  D. Maruyama, dmaruyama@elcamino.edu  
 
Learning Management System:  Canvas

  Humanities 1, 9432
  L. Noonan, lnoonan@elcamino.edu
  Learning Management System:  Canvas

  English 1C, 9383
   J. Hill, jkhill@elcamino.edu
  Learning Management System:  Canvas

  Humanities 1, 9433
  L. Noonan, lnoonan@elcamino.edu

  Learning Management System:  Canvas

  English 1C, 9389
  M. Mayreis-Voorhis, mmayreis@elcamino.edu 
  Learning Management System:  Canvas

  Psychology 15, 9185
  K. Dooley, kdooley@elcamino.edu
  Learning Management System:  Canvas

  Human Development 110, 9075
  E. French-Preson, epreston@elcamino.edu
  Learning Management System:  ETUDES

 Psychology 16, 9186
 D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu

 Learning Management System:  ETUDES
 

 

Academic Strategies 60
(Recommended for Students ENROLLING IN AN Online Courses.)

Students enrolled in online or hybrid classes for the spring 2018 should check their college email for updates that are sometime sent regarding any changes.

  
Spring 2018 HYBRID COURSES

Mathematics

Math 150, Elementary Statistics w/Probability, #9798
Instructor: J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Saturday beginning Saturday, February 10th from 9:30 a.m. to 11:20 a.m. in room MS-210.

Math 150, Elementary Statistics w/Probability, #9799
Instructor: J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Monday and Wednesday beginning Monday, February 12th from 12:00 p.m.  to 12:55 p.m. in room MS-210.

Math 150, Elementary Statistics w/Probability, #9800
Instructor: J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Monday and Wednesday beginning Monday, February 12th  from 2:00 p.m. to 2:55 p.m. in room MS-210.

Math 73, Intermediate Algebra, #9772
Instructor: J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Saturday beginning Saturday, February 10th from 12:30 p.m. to 2:50 p.m. in room MS-210.

Math 73, Intermediate Algebra, #9773
Instructor: M. Roeun, mroeun@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Wednesday beginning Wednesday, February 14th from 5:30 p.m. to 7:50 p.m. in room MS-202

Math 80, Intermediate Algebra for Science/Engineering –#9782
Instructor: M. Tavakkoli, mtavakkoli@elcamino.edu
This class meets every Monday beginning Monday, February 12th  from 5:30 p.m. to 7:50 p.m. in room MS-202.

 

spring 2018 ONLINE COURSES

Academic Strategies (Recommended for Students taking Online Courses.)

AS 60, Strategies for Success in Distance Education, #9258
Instructor:  N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas   February 10th to March 23rd

Administration of Justice

AJ 100, Introduction to Administration of Justice, #9005   
Instructor:  D. Mason, dmason@elcamno.edu
Learning Management SystemCanvas

Anthropology

ANTH 1, Introduction to Physical Anthropology, #9016
Instructor:   J. Parikh,  parikh@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:  Canvas

ANTH 2, Introduction to Cultural Anthropology, #9017
Instructor:   J. Parikh,  parikh@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Art

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life, #9028
Instructor: G. Smith, gasmith@elcamino.edu
Learning Management SystemCanvas

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life, #9029
Instructor: A. Lezo, alezo@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Astronomy 

ASTR 20, The Solar System, #9832
Instructor:  K. Schwitkis, kschwitkis@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  Canvas

Business

BUS 14, Marketing -  #9500
Instructor: D. McGovern, dmcgovern@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

BUS 15, Business Mathematics -  #9501
Instructor:  D. McGovern, dmcgovern@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Child Development

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development - #9898
Instructor:  C. Washington, cwashington@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  ETUDES

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development, #9899
Instructor:  J. Jeffries, jjefries@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:  Canvas

CDEV 104, The Home, School, and Community, #9902
Instructor:  J. Phillips, jphillips@elcamino.edu
Learning Management SystemCanvas

CDEV 114, Observing/Assessing Young Children, #9917
Instructor: R. Most, rmost@elcamino.edu
Learning Management SystemCanvas

CDEV 150, Introduction of Children with Special Needs, #9930
Instructor: C. Washington, cwashington@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   ETUDES 

CDEV 154, Role/Responsibility of the Special Ed. Assistant, #9932
Instructor: R. Most, rmost@elcamino.edu
Learning Management SystemCanvas

Computer Information System

CIS 30, Introduction to E-Commerce, #9535
Instructor:  A. Yahye, ayahye@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: ETUDES

Contemporary Health

CH1, Personal and Community Health, #9610
Instructor:  K. Rosario, rosario@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   ETUDES

Economics

ECON 2, Principles of Economics, Microeconomics Theory, # 9063
Instructor: M. Keskinel, mkeskinel@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

English

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9357
Instructor:  R, Roach, rroach@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9358
Instructor:  N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:  Canvas

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9359
Instructor:  A. Gillis, agillis@elcamino.edu 
Learning management System:  ETUDES 

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9360
Instructor:  R, Roach, rroach@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:  Canvas

ENGL 1B, Literature/Composition, #9366
Instructor:  D. Maruyama, dmaruyama@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management SystemCanvas
1st 8-Weeks: February 10 to April 6

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9382
Instructor: J. Hill,  jhill@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas
1st 8-Weeks: February 10 to April 6


ENGL 1C,
Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9383
Instructor:  J. Hill,  jhill@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas
2nd 8 Weeks: April 16 to June 8

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9384
Instructor:  N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:   Canvas
1st 8-Weeks: February 10 to April 6

ENGL 27, Children's Literature, #9387
Instructor:  A. Gillis, agillis@elcamino.edu 
Learning management System:  ETUDES

ENGL 40B, American Literature II, #9388
Instructor: J. Crozier, jcrozier@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:  Canvas

Geology

GEOL 1, Physical Geology -  #9867
Instructor:  M. Okbamicahel, mokbamichael@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

History

History 101, United States History to 1877 - #9107
Instructor: K. Radcliffe,
kradcliffe@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System: ETUDES 

History 101, United States History to 1877 - #9108
Instructor: W. Van Benschoten, wvanbenschoten@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:   Canvas

History 102, U.S.  History, 1877 to the Present – #9114   
Instructor: D. Black, dblack@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:   Canvas

History 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present – #9115
Instructor: K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   ETUDES 

History 141, History of Modern Civilization - #9120
Instructor: W. Van Benschoten, wvanbenschoten@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Human Development

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success – #9092
Instructor: J. Phillips, jphillips@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:   
Canvas

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success – #9081
Instructor: J. Phillips,
jphillips@elcamino.edu  
Learning Management System:   
Canvas

 Humanities

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities, #9431
Instructor:   L. Noonan,   lnoonan@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities, #9432
Instructor:   L. Noonan,   lnoonan@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Music

Music 111, Music Appreciation Survey, #9128
Instructor:   M. Uch, much@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: ETUDES

Music 111, Music Appreciation Survey, #9129
Instructor:   M. Uch, much@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: ETUDES

Nutrition

NFOO 11, Nutrition, #9629
Instructor:  M. Lyons, mlyons@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Physical Education

PE 277, Introduction to Kinesiology/Physical Ed. - #9664
Instructor:  Nathan Fernley, nfernley@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  ETUDES

Philosophy

PHIL 103 (previously PHIL 3), Ethics and Society – #9437  
Instructor:   E. Sedgwick, esedgwick@elcamino.edu   
Learning Management System:   Canvas

PHIL 106 (previously PHIL 8), Introduction to Logic - #9439
Instructor: E. Sedgwick, esedgwick@elcamino.edu   
Learning management System:   Canvas

Physics

PHYS 11, Descriptive Introduction to Physics , #9885
Instructor: M. Khan, mkhan@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

Political Science

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA, # 9162
Instructor: P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  Canvas

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA, #9163
Instructor: E. Craigg, ecraigg@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  ETUDES

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA, #9165
Instructor: E. Craigg, ecraigg@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  ETUDES

POLI 10, Introduction to International Relations - #9172
Instructor: P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu 
 Learning Management System: Canvas

Psychology

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development - #9198
Instructor: D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu 
Learning Management System:  ETUDES

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development - #9199
Instructor:  D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:  ETUDES

PSYC 5, General Psychology - #9188
Instructor: K. Dooley, kdooley@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: Canvas

PSYC 5, General Psychology - #9189
Instructor: F. Moshrefi, fmoshrefi@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

PSYC 5, General Psychology - #9190
Instructor: B. Conn, bconn@elcamino.edu Learning Management System: Canvas

Sociology

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology, #9212
Instructor: V. Haynes, vhaynes@elcamino.edu
 Learning Management System: Canvas

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology, #9213
Instructor: P. Aguilera, paguilera@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

SOCI 102, The Family, #9217
Instructor: V. Haynes, vhaynes@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System: Canvas

SOCI 104, Social Problems-#9222
 Instructor: P. Aguilera, paguilera@elcamino.edu
Learning Management System:   Canvas

 (upated February 8, 2018)

 

  RESOURCES:

  Student Handbook for Distance Education Courses

   Searchable Class Schedule

  Online Bookstore
  

    What is available for the
Spring 2018 Semester?

 CANVAS

   Canvas Login Instructions

 

 

ETUDES LOG 
    ETUDES STUDENT HELP DESK

    ETUDES Login Instructions
    ETUDES - Resetting the Password

 

CONTACT INFORMATION

Accreditation (ACCJC)

Vocational Technology Building, Office 138
310-900-1600, ext. 2137
If you have a questions, please email us at distanceEd-cec@elcamino.edu

Distance Education Faculty Coordinator

Back to top