Header Image
Compton College / Academic Programs / Distance Education / Course Information

Distance Education 

(online and Hybrid Courses)

Many of the distance education courses will have a first class meeting on campus.  Some courses are offered entirely online and do not have meetings on campus. Hybrid courses include both online instruction and required on-campus class meetings.

The instructors at Compton College use the course management system 'CANVAS' via the internet. The online courses are available on the start date of the class. A student must login and read the first announcement.  The announcement will contain instructions that includes what needs to be completed to avoid being dropped from the class.  Instructors teaching hybrid courses use the same system; however, students must attend the first day of class as scheduled and meetings thereafter.

 Register Online image  DE Courses are accessed on the Course Management System called  Canvas  via the Internet.  (You must be officially registered in a DE course or you will not see the course tab in  CANVAS)

CANVAS Website and Login Instructions

Academic Strategies 60
(Recommended for students enrolling in Distance Education courses-available in the fall 2018 semester.)

Students enrolled in online or hybrid classes for the fall 2018 should check their college email for updates that are periodically sent regarding any changes.

 

FALL 2018 HYBRID COURSES

Biology

BIOL 10, Fundamental of Biology, #9839
K. Marsh, kmarsh@elcamino.edu
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class  as scheduled.  Tuesday from 5:30-8:15pm in rom MS 108.

Computer Information Systems

CIS 13, computer Information Systems, #9534
A. Yahye, ayahye@elcamino.edu
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class  as scheduled.  Wednesdays from 4:30-5:45p.m. in room VT 124.

Mathematics

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #9799
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled. Saturday from 9:00-10:50 a.m. in room MS 210.

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #9800
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled. Wednesday from 10:45 a.m.-12:35 p.m. in room MS 210.

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #9801
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled. Wednesday from 1:00 p.m.-2:55 p.m. in room MS 210.

MATH, 80, Intermediate Algebra for Science,m Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, #9790
G. Manikandan, gmanikandan@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled. Monday from 9:30 a.m.-11:50 a.m. in room VT 125.

MATH, 80, Intermediate Algebra for Science,m Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, #9787
M. Tavakkoli, mtavakkoli@elcamino.edu
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled. Wednesday from 5:30-7:50 p.m. in room MS 202.

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra, General Education, #9776
G. Manikandan, gmanikandan@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled. Wednesday from 9:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. in room TV 16.

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra, General Education, #9777
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@elcamino.edu
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled. Saturday from 11:30 a.m.-1:50 p.m. in room MS 210.

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra, General Education, #9778
Malinni Roeun, mroeun@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled. Tuesday from 5:30-7:50 p.m. in room MS 208.

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra, General Education, #9779
Malinni Roeun, mroeun@elcamino.edu 
This is a hybrid course, students must attend the in-class period as scheduled. Wednesday from 5:30-7:50 p.m. in room MS 208.

 

FALL 2018 ONLINE COURSES

Academic Strategies

AS60, Strategies for Success in Distance Education, #9247
N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu

Administration of Justice

AJ 100, Introduction to Administration of Justice, #9005
D. Mason, dmason@elcamino.edu

AJ 111, Criminal Investigations, #9008
J. Sandoz, jsandoz@elcamino.edu

AJ 170, Laws of Arrest, Search and Seizure, #9012
D. Mason, dmason@elcamino.edu

Anthropology

ANTH 1, Introduction to Physical Anthropology, #9017
J. Parikh, parikh@elcamino.edu  

ANTH 2, Introduction to Cultural Anthropology, #9020
J. Parikh, parikh@elcamino.edu  

Art

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life, #9028
G. Smith, gasmith@elcamino.edu

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life, #9029
A. Lezo, alezo@elcamino.edu

Astronomy 

ASTR 20, The Solar System, #9832
K. Schwitkis, kschwitkis@elcamino.edu

Business

BUS 21, Human Resources Management, #9503
D. McGovern, dmcgovern@elcamino.edu

BUS 28, Written Business Communications, #9506
D. McGovern, dmcgovern@elcamino.edu

Child Development

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development, #9900
H. Pham, htpham@elcamino.edu

CDEV 104, The Home, the School and the Community, #9904
R. Most, rmost@elcamino.edu

CDEV 114, Observing and Accessing Young Children, #9911
R. Most, rmost@elcamino.edu

CDEV 150, Introduction of Children with Special Needs, #9920
C. Washington, cwashington@elcamino.edu 

Contemporary Health

CH1, Personal and Community Health, #9608
K. Rosario, rosario@elcamino.edu

Economics

ECON 1, Principles of Economics, Macroeconomics Theory, #9064
Instructor: M. Keskinel, mkeskinel@elcamino.edu 

English

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9356
R. Roach, rroach@elcamino.edu

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9357
Instructor:  R. Roach, rroach@elcamino.edu

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9358
N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu 

ENGL 1A, Reading and Composition, #9359
N. Williams, nwilliams@elcamino.edu 

ENGL 1B, Literature/Composition, #9369
D. Maruyama, dmaruyama@elcamino.edu 

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9382
J. Hill,  jkhill@elcamino.edu 

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9383
A. Gillis, agillis@elcamino.edu 

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9384
A. Gillis, agillis@elcamino.edu 

ENGL 1C, Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition, #9385
J. Hill,  jkhill@elcamino.edu 

ENGL 39, Literature and Film, #9388
J. Crozier, <jcrozier@elcamino.edu

Geology

GEOL 1, Physical Geology, #9866
M. Okbamichael, mokbamicahel@elcamino.edu

History

History 101, United States History to 1877, #9108
D. Black, dblack@elcamino.edu

History 101, United States History to 1877, #9109
R. Murray, rmurray@elcamino.edu  

History 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present, #9114
K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@elcamino.edu 

History 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present, #9115
K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@elcamino.edu   

History 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present, #9116
D. Black, dblack@elcamino.edu

Human Development

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success, #9092
J. Phillips, jphillips@elcamino.edu

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success, #9093
J. Phillips, jphillips@elcamino.edu

Humanities

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities, #9431
L. Noonan, lnoonan@elcamino.edu

HUMA 1, Introduction to the Humanities, #9432
L. Noonan, lnoonan@elcamino.edu 

Music

Music 111, Music Appreciation Survey, #9129
M. Uch, much@elcamino.edu

Music 111, Music Appreciation Survey, #9130
M. Uch, much@elcamino.edu

Nutrition

NFOO 11, Nutrition, #9629
M. Lyons, mlyons@elcamino.edu

Philosophy
PHIL 103, Ethics and Society, 9438
E. Sedgwick, esedgwick@elcamino.edu

PHIL 106, Introduction to Symbolic Logic, 9441
E. Sedgwick, esedgwick@elcamino.edu

Physical Education

PE 277, Introduction to Kinesiology/Physical Ed., #9670
Nathan Fernley, nfernley@elcamino.edu

Physics

PHYS 11, Descriptive Introduction to Physics , #9689
M. Khan, mkhan@elcamino.edu

Political Science

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA, #9166
P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu

POLI 1, Governments of the U.S. and CA, #9167
E. Craigg, ecraigg@elcamino.edu 

POLI 2, Introduction to Comparative Politics, #9168
P. Flor, pflor@elcamino.edu

Psychology

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development, #9199
D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu

PSYC 16, Lifespan Development, #9200
D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@elcamino.edu

PSYC 5, General Psychology,#9188
B. Conn, bconn@elcamino.edu

PSYC 5, General Psychology, #9189
K. Dooley, kdooley@elcamino.edu

Sociology

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology, #9214
 V. Haynes, vhaynes@elcamino.edu

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology, #9215
 P. Aguilera, paguilera@elcamino.edu

SOCI 102, The Family, #9218
 P. Aguilera, paguilera@elcamino.edu

SOCI 104, Social Problems, #9220
 V. Haynes, vhaynes@elcamino.edu

 

  RESOURCES:

  Student Handbook for Distance Education Courses

   Searchable Class Schedule

  Online Bookstore

 CANVAS

   Canvas Login Instructions  

 

CONTACT INFORMATION

Accreditation (ACCJC)

Vocational Technology Building, Office 138
310-900-1600, ext. 2137
If you have a questions, please email us at distanceEd-cec@elcamino.edu

Distance Education Faculty Coordinator
Jasmine Phillips

Back to top