Header Image
Compton College / Academic Programs / Career & Technical Education

Business & Industrial Studies Division:
Career Education (CE) Programs


At Compton College we are committed to preparing students for employment (Connection) and further education (Advanced Skill Building in a Professional Pathway) in a major that leads to a career.  CE courses are occupationally specific and technical in nature. There are 11 occupational programs offered at Compton College.  If you are uncertain about a career direction, our counselors can assist you in finding a path that fits your talents and interests.

Prepare for gainful employment and career advancement in a very short time!

Courses are taught by professionals who are experts in their field. Their expertise ensures that students receive an extensive, hands-on educational experience.  Instructors also work with students seeking employment, often before the course ends. CE students learn how to compete in today's workplace while learning valuable skills vital to their career advancement.  A strong work ethnic is reinforced, along with dedicated workmanship.

High School Students can take courses for high school credit and college units at the same time for Free!

CE offers programs for high school graduates looking to start a career, or for those who want to transfer to a four-year college or university.  Many students enroll in courses to upgrade their skills or develop new ones to advance or change careers.

Today, options for employment are limitless. As our world becomes more dependent on technology, the demand for skilled technical employees will continue to increase.

Let Compton College help you build a better future!


Contact Information

Business & Industrial Sciences Guided Pathway Division Office
Office Hours: Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Summer Office Hours:  Monday through Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.
310-900-1600, ext. 2780

Dr. Paul Flor Nicole Gordon
Dean of Student Learning Senior Administrative Assistant
310-900-1600, ext. 2273 Vocational Technology Building, Office 140
Vocational Technology Building, Office 150 310-900-1600, ext. 2787
pflor@compton.edu ngordon@compton.edu 
   
Celia Valdez   
 Instructional Division Coordinator  
Vocational Technology Building, Office 140  
310-900-1600, Ext. 2137  
cvaldez@compton.edu  
   

 

Lynell Wiggins Alicia Zambrano
Director of Workforce Development and Adult Education Career Pathways Coordinator
Tri City Consortium, VocTech Building, Office 119 Vocational Technology Building, Office 137
310-900-1600, ext. 2753 310-900-1600, ext. 2779
lwiggins@compton.edu  azambrano@compton.edu 
   
Iris Fernandez Carlos Franco
Program Specialist - Tri City Adult Education Consortium Student Services Advisor
Vocational Technology Building, Office 140 Welcome Center, D-27 
310-900-1600, ext. 2788 310-900-1600, ext. 2765
ifernandez@compton.edu  cfranco1@compton.edu 
   
Nicole Smith  
Job Placement Specialist  
Vocational Technology Building, Office 150  
310-900-1600, ext. 2770  
nsmith3@compton.edu   
Back to top